Tuesday, July 16th, 2019

Assembly Republicans choose their team


Assembly Republicans picked their leadership team:

Assembly Republicans today elected Rep. Jeff Fitzgerald of Horicon as minority leader and Rep. Mark Gottlieb of Port Washington as assistant minority leader.

“Our focus is going to be getting back in the majority,” Fitzgerald told his colleagues.

Fitzgerald defeated Rep. Scott Newcomer of Hartland; Gottlieb beat Rep. Leah Vukmir of Wauwatosa.

Of Gottlieb, one lobbyist is said to have remarked, “No Republican should win the League of Municipalities Outstanding Legislator Award.” You know, everyone liked Congressman Bob Michel, too. He spent his whole career in the minority. 38 years.


Members also elected Rep. Scott Suder of Abbotsford as caucus chairman. He defeated Rep. Mark Honadel, who made an unsuccessful run to stay on as caucus chairman.

Joel Kleefisch of Oconomowoc was voted caucus vice chairman.

Be Sociable, Share!

Print this entry

Comments are closed.