Tuesday, July 23rd, 2019

Kapenga voted against the Milwaukee Bucks deal


State Rep Chris Kapenga voted no on the Milwaukee Bucks deal, but his vote was not enough to prevent the Assembly from approving public financing for the new arena, 52-34. The complete tally is online.

The bill now goes to Governor Scott Walker who is expected to sign it. It will be interesting to see if any of his presidential campaign opponents mention it as an issue.

Kapenga explained to Joy Cardin at Wisconsin Public Radio the reason for his opposition and his hope to amend the bill to reduce costs to the point that state financing would be unnecessary. That echoed his statements during the recent special election for state senate that he believed exempting the project from prevailing wage requirements would make the state contribution unnecessary.

State Representatives Scott Allen, Dale Kooyenga, Mike Kuglitsch, Rob Hutton, Joe Sanfelippo, Janel Brandtjen and Joel Kleefisch voted yes for publicly funding the arena. State Representative Adam Neylon did not vote. State Representatives Dave Craig and Cody Horlacher joined Kapenga in being the three state representatives for Waukesha County who voted no.


Click to enlarge. From the state legislature website.

Be Sociable, Share!

Print this entry